A little bit about my novel…

So, what is The Glorious Face of Sorrow all about?

The story starts, in April 1999, with Jack Spalding, a jaded, middle-aged Sydney Solicitor. We learn in the Prologue that his wife, Cassie, has left him on a trial separation. Will she come back just long enough to announce that their marriage is over? Or will she stay?

In the next Chapter, Jack is consulted by Harold Macauley, who is seeking legal advice about his missing son, Hugh, and his missing daughter-in-law, Jing.

So, within the first 15 pages, the two intrigues facing Jack Spalding are set up. Will his marriage survive? Will he find out what happened to Hugh and Jing?

The story then goes back in time, to 1996, when Hugh meets Jing. They each tell their side of the “meet-cute” story.

From then onwards, Jing, Jack and Hugh take turns to narrate the story in the first person.

A marriage in trouble. A burgeoning romance. The daily travails of a working lawyer. The tensions which arises when a changing society struggles with its immigration levels. And a book of poetry which may solve a mystery.

I think it’s a good story. I hope it finds an audience.


Published by archibaldhobbs

I'm the author of the upcoming novel, "The Glorious Face of Sorrow" (Austin Macauley). I've had flash fiction published at The Drabble, 101 Words, 50-Word Stories, Friday Flash Fiction and Pocket Fiction UK. I write primarily to impress my wife, but would be delighted to have a wider audiennce.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: